Irish Golfer Digital+

Wednesday 30th January 2019

Issue link: http://digital.irishgolfer.ie/i/1076694

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 1 of 31

SUBSCRIBE WEDNESDAY 30.1.19 WWW.IRISHGOLFER.IE CONTENTS AGENDA COLUMNS & OPINIONS PREVIEW THIS WEEK'S EVENTS NEW GEAR THE LATEST KIT REVEALED WEEKLY ROUNDUP THE LATEST GOLF NEWS VIDEO OF THE WEEK Digital Editor: Peter Finnan peter@matchplaymedia.ie Tel: 01 5036099 Print Editor: John Shortt john@matchplaymedia.ie Tel: 01 5036090 Sub Editor: John Craven CONTACT US Match Play Media Disclaimer: Copyright Match Play Media 2019. The publisher cannot accept responsibility for, nor do they agree with any of the views expressed, statements or claims made in any article, news items or advertisement published in this magazine. WWW.IRISHGOLFER.IE Publishers: Match Play Media Limited, G13, Maynooth Business Campus, Maynooth, Co. Kildare Contributors: Liam Kelly, Ivan Morris, Kevin Markham, Bernie Maguire, Paul Kelly, Paul Gallagher, Niall O'Shea, John Craven, Mary Doyle, Mark McGowan, Donal 'Doc' Hughes, GolfCentralDaily Design: EMCreative.ie Photography: Getty Images, Golffile, R&A, Pat Cashman, USGA Peter Finnan, on behalf of the team W e're only a couple of tournaments into the sea- son and it didn't take long for the 'new' rules, which came into effect on January 1st, to start causing a stir with a two shot penalty given to Haotong Li in Dubai last week. It looked to me like he did break the rule, but it was rather innocuous and he was penalised all the same. These rules were lauded at the time of announcement as they were supposed to make things easier and sim - plify what are occasionally cumbersome rulings that overly penalise players. However, from this vantage point it would seem that there is still some work to be done to achieve that lofty goal. On the flipside, I managed to play golf last week and I pulled my tee shot into the greenside rough on a Par- 3 and it plugged. While looking for it I accidentally stood on it. I then dropped it from the plugged lie and in playing the shot I double hit it, causing the ball to hit my bag and bounce back and strike me on the leg. It did bounce onto the edge of the green though from where I managed to hole the putt and got a par…. which in old money would have been a 10! Keep your rule book handy folks! Will we ever see an end to these rules fiascos? THE WAR RAGES ON

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Irish Golfer Digital+ - Wednesday 30th January 2019